The Ashburn Volunteer Fire and Rescue Department (AVFRD) held its Annual Banquet and Awards dinner on Saturday, January 27, 2027 celebrating 80 years of service to the Ashburn community.  The evening’s program was hosted by President Josh Townsend and featured remarks from Board of Supervisors Chair Phyllis Randall. Guests in attendance included the AVFRD Board of Directors, local politicians and dignitaries, and hundreds of volunteer members of the AVFRD.

Prior to the presentation of awards and acknowledgments, Chair Phyllis J. Randall conducted the annual Installation of Officers. Newly elected leaders stood before their fellow volunteers to formally accept their responsibilities, pledging to act in the best interests of the community, work towards the preservation of life and property, and uphold a commitment to excellence in their roles.

The evening honored the many volunteer members of AVFRD and the thousands of hours given collectively to the community. AVFRD is pleased to announce the following recognitions and awards:

  • Rookie EMS of the Year – Heather Neal
  • Rookie Firefighter of the Year – Max Ahr
  • BLS Provider of the Year – Irma Hopke
  • ALS Provider of the Year – Sara Phillips
  • Firefighter of the Year – Van Lisle
  • EMS Officer of the Year – Daniel Reep
  • Fire Officer of the Year – David Holtz
  • EMS Training Impact – Gail Young
  • Fire Training Impact – Jake Karabetian
  • Chief Costello Award – Ryan Borrell
  • Rookie Administrative Member of the Year – Maricela Suzuki
  • Administrative Member of the Year – Leah Lutz

In addition, the following AVFRD members were honored and recognized for their contributions to the department.

  • Top 5 Operational Standby Volunteer Hours: Jake Karabetian (3,205 hours) Ryan Borrell (2,216 hours), Kimia Teymouri (1,839 hours), David Holtz (1,213 hours), Johnnie Pfalmer (1071 hours)
  • Top 5 Non-Emergency Volunteer Hours: Loring Dixon (1,337 hours), Christie Quijano (1,319 hours), Leah Lutz (635 hours), Donna Stuck (633 hours), Christina Roberts (617 hours)

The following members were recognized for their length of service with AVFRD:

  • 5 Years: Sam Bosserman, Tyler Davis, John DeLooper, Daniel Doherty, Gabriel Gallagher, Kassandra Haakansson, Kira King, Nathan McCann, Joseph Neville, Daniel Reep, Diego Sanchez, Doug Wendt, Rick Wheeler
  • 10 Years: Steve Nichols
  • 15 Years/Life Member: Brian Carlson, Mike Ly, David Holtz, Corey Merdler, Farrukh Rashid, Heidi Wallner, Tom Willis
  • 20 Years: Scott Madden, Kyle Stephens
  • 25 Years: Julius Horvath
  • 30 Years: Stan Murphy

Special recognition was also paid to several members for their contributions this year:

  • President’s Special Recognition (presented by President Josh Townsend) – Gary Fisher
  • EMS Assistant Chief Special Recognition (presented by Assistant Chief Mike Walsh) – Adil Ather, Michael Baker, Josh Cole, Julius Horvath, Glenn Kaupin, Nick Klop, Mike Ly,

Nathan McCann, Jessica Mulligan, Octavian Munteanu, Nick Neglia, Sara Phillips, Daniel Reep, Augie Rosas, Gemma Starkie

  • Chief’s Special Recognition (presented by Chief Bill Graham) – John DeLooper

AVFRD wishes to offer proud congratulations for the above individuals who continue to live the motto “Neighbors Helping Neighbors.” To learn more about Ashburn Fire & Rescue Department and how you can become involved, please visit