Congratulations to the graduates of the Loudoun County Combined Fire and Rescue System (LC-CFRS) ceremony held on January 18, 2024! It’s truly impressive that these volunteers, balancing full-time jobs, schooling, and family responsibilities, devoted numerous hours over the past six months to their fire and rescue training.

Special recognition goes to the following Ashburn Volunteer Fire and Rescue Department individuals who completed specific courses:

Firefighter I-II graduates:

Hakim Aburomi, Joseph Ahr, Batya Ramirez, Betsy Rifka, Natan Silva Cabrera, and Cade Swain

AEMT graduates:

Joshua Danjczek and Kevin Wetmore

EMT-B graduates:

Evelyn Allan, Margaret Borrell, Brandon Cary, Austin Croy, Zoe DeWitt, Thelma Gilman, Liz Helgesen, Katrin Hildum, Richard Johnson, Sai Kathuroju, Bailey Keener, Jason Linchau, Sanvik Medavarapu, Nashima Patel, Roger Quint, Patrick Ross, Sean Shectman, and Eric Wilfong,

It’s truly motivating to witness these dedicated volunteers successfully finishing their training and attaining certifications at the local, state, and national levels in Loudoun County, Commonwealth of Virginia. Their dedication to serving the community through firefighting and emergency medical services is admirable. Congratulations and heartfelt best wishes to all the graduates as they begin their journeys as trained firefighters and medical professionals!

Becoming a volunteer firefighter or EMT can be a rewarding and meaningful way to serve your community, save lives, and make a positive impact on people’s lives during emergencies.  For more information on how to volunteer with AVFRD, please visit our website at