Congratulations to all the graduates of the Loudoun County Combined Fire and Rescue System (LC-CFRS) graduation ceremony held on July 20, 2023! It’s truly commendable that these volunteers, despite their full-time jobs, schooling, and family obligations, dedicated countless hours over the last six months to their fire and rescue training.

Special recognition goes to the following Ashburn Volunteer Fire and Rescue Department individuals who completed specific courses:

Firefighter I-II graduates:

Evelyn Allen, Selim Benis, Joshua Danjczek, Liz Helgesen, Matheus Piedade, Sean Schechtman and Evan Wheeler

AEMT graduates:

Nicholas Neglia, Kirsten Sullivan and Marian Arcelay

EMT-B graduates:

Madeleine Adler, Abdullah Al Shawi, Katherine Alpert, Natan Cabrera, Makayla Hearne, Alyna Jasin, Katelyn Jones, Aditya Narla, Heather Neal, Jonnie Pfalmer, Neha Polavarapu, Cindy Porter, Prajwal Puppali, Betsy Rifka and David Warner

A special shoutout to Firefighter Evelyn Allen, who was awarded the “top student” award of Firefighter Class #23-1 by LC-CFRS instructors. Evelyn’s leadership, dedication, academic success, and ability to motivate others were recognized and appreciated.

It’s inspiring to see these volunteers complete their training and achieve Loudoun County, Commonwealth of Virginia, and National Certifications. Their commitment to serving the community through firefighting and emergency medical services is commendable. Well done and best wishes to all the graduates as they embark on their journeys as trained firefighters and medical professionals!

Becoming a volunteer firefighter or EMT can be a rewarding and meaningful way to serve your community, save lives, and make a positive impact on people’s lives during emergencies.  For more information on how to volunteer with AVFRD, please visit our website at